Three Hundred Forty Three: Work in Progress

“You are an unfinished work in progress. One of the good things about life’s challenges: You get to find out that you’re capable of being far more than you ever thought possible.”  – Karen Salmansohn

Wednesday, December 10th

I was just reflecting on the fact that this blog is not resolving any of my personality quirks. There is no story arc as I embrace my flaws and champion them over 365 days. I still loathe folding laundry as much as I did a year ago. I don’t always floss my teeth and I get entirely way too self-absorbed sometimes.

However, this little journey of self-awareness has been amazing in the most subtle of ways. One day at a time, I’ve examined myself and looked at the parts of my drawing that still need color or shading. Each day I pull out a new brush and work on a different area. Sometimes I overwork one area and neglect others. Then I stand back and look at how much paint I applied in that one area. It’s all revelatory.

I’m not hanging this painting in anyone else’s gallery. I’m not waiting for it to look perfect to me before I present it to the world. It is a live installation and you all are watching me unfold, for all my strokes of brilliance and muddy splotches both.

Have you ever journaled or blogged over an extended period of time?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

