Three Hundred Forty One: The After

“After all, when a stone is dropped into a pond, the water continues quivering even after the stone has sunk to the bottom.” – Arthur Golden

Monday, December 8th

I know my brother is stable for the time being, but now I’m left feeling this incredible neither here or there-ness. I can only imagine how awkward he’s feeling.

It’s difficult when something intense happens because afterwards there is a post-peak slump. The adrenaline has been spent. The grief has hit an apex. The body and mind are tired but you keep moving on.

I have made myself ask others to hold this experience with me and to send all the good vibes they could my brother’s way. But I have a cap on how many times I want to follow up with people to discuss whether he is okay.  I process my grief mostly in a silent and solitary manner, and it is tiring for me to keep up with other’s questions.

I don’t know where that graceful balance is in caring for others, having others care for you, and getting self-care in too.

How do you react after a traumatic experience?

More…

 

Tagged

Leave a Reply

