Three Hundred Thirty Seven: Taking Stock of This Year

“There are three principal means of acquiring knowledge… observation of nature, reflection, and experimentation. Observation collects facts; reflection combines them; experimentation verifies the result of that combination.”  – Denis Diderot

Thursday, December 4th

Every time I write a post number on this blog I am reminded of how very close I am to wrapping up this year of turning 40. I’d like to spend New Year’s Eve doing something other than a countdown of the top moments from this year, so I’m going to start the reflections now. On the year, perhaps, and more so on this journey in its entirety.

So to start, a pros and cons list:

Pros:

  • Reflecting on the daily moments, the weeks passed, and the year in its entirety has brought a great sense of awareness of what I’ve done this year.
  • Amidst that, I’ve been more bold in my daily decisions.
  • More than just letting friends in, I think I’ve invited them into my life.

Cons:

  • I still battle procrastination and laziness, and there were times when I felt like I rehashed topics over and over again in this blog.
  • Sometimes I worry that I’ve been a little pious or idealistic in this blog. I don’t know if I really got down to examining some of the deepest character flaws I have.
  • Perhaps it was a brave examination of the life of a middle-aged mother at PTA meetings. Snore.

And now gratitudes…

  • I have reflected on every day this year. It is terribly difficult as a mother of two young children to put aside time to write while also maintaining a house, a social life, volunteer commitments, and intimacy with my husband.
  • Often the blog was a way for me to reflect on the gratitude I have for my friends and family, and privileged life.
  • I had the good fortune to go on a road trip to see so many people dear to me in my Canadian home province. It really was one of the best trips I’ve had, filled with love and beautiful sights. It was truly the best birthday present (for this milestone year) that my family could have given me.
  • Slowly, I shared this blog with a few others in my circles. I’m getting over the insecurities I have about my writing one word at a time.
  • I was able to put a lot of time and words into reflecting on my family – especially the relationship with my husband and children. I realize these are the relationships where I have the greatest potential for growth as well.
  • Many good things have come my way this year. All that my family needs and more.
  • I’m very grateful to live in a cohousing community. It has taught me so much about opening up to others and sharing my gifts while also dealing with my stuff that holds me back from sharing freely and openly.
  • To the gentle passings, the brave births, and the courageous fights for survival…I am very thankful for my health and that of my loved ones while we stand witness to the ebb and flow of life. Today is a gift and I am happy to be here.

How do you reflect on your days?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

