Three Hundred Thirty Six: We All Need a Stretch

“Warrior pose battles inner weakness and wins focus. You see that there is no war within you. You’re on your own side, and you are your own strength.”  – Unknown

Wednesday, December 3rd

Today was my daughter’s last day of her after school yoga class. She told me in the morning that she didn’t want to go to the class, but she was reluctant to leave when I came to pick her up. It’s been a great experience for her.

So much of parenting is coaching someone else while also coaching yourself. It’s a test of balance, and I am often teetering to the side of frustration, misunderstanding, and anger. I am aware of this and trying to do better for my children, but it is a struggle – perhaps the toughest struggle in my life. I have found that quieting my mind and wringing tension out of my body through tai chi, yoga, or qi gong is an effective means of centering myself once more.

My daughter made a book of yoga with key words for her like “postyur”, “godis”, and “rainbo power”. My sincere hope for her is that she continues to stretch and move the energy in her life around and through her, expelling the old stale energies and rejuvenating herself with the new.

What rejuvenates you?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

