Three Hundred Sixteen: The Teaching Headache

“One timely cry of warning can save nine of surprise.”  – Joshua Thompson

Thursday, November 13th

Tonight I had a cracking headache – one of those seering pains that seizes the neck and radiates through the skull and the arms. Ugh.

I asked my husband to give me a massage and by the end of it I felt pretty good, but only for a short time. Then the pain came back. He had noticed that the back of my neck was starting to hunch. This happens to women as they age, the “Dowager Hump”, and that was alarming to me. Yes, it’s alarming to me that my body is showing signs of aging. I’m okay with my stretch marks and yellowing teeth, but this hump seems to signify so much more. It could mean that I am showing signs of improper posture – something quite prevalent in my family. It could be a symptom of looking down at screens constantly. It could be a bodily reaction to being out of the stretchful tai chi classes that I’ve taken a break of for a year now.

It feels like a challenge. A challenge to stand up for my body and it’s capacity to move freely and able-ly throughout my life.

What are the health warning signs that you’ve received?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

