Three Hundred Seventeen: Field Tripping

“Crucial to science education is hands-on involvement: showing, not just telling; real experiments and field trips and not just ‘virtual reality’.”  – Martin Rees

Friday, November 14th

My daughter is blessed to attend a public school that stresses the importance of hands-on learning through being outdoors and participating in activities that relate to their field of study. Today she went to a museum dedicated to boats made of wood, since her class is learning about trees and how humans use them in the world around us.

I love taking my children on field trips, and often I forget all the things that they are really learning when we are in the thick of them. They are having experiences and getting to know how things work by witnessing them firsthand. It was frustrating to me as a child when I came up against something I didn’t know or had never been taught; I took it personally and felt self-conscious that I might be the only person who didn’t know that. Somewhere along the way, I wasn’t given the explicit explanation that life is an onion and we peel back the layers one-by-one. And it’s okay to not know and to question and to guess and to be corrected.

I see how my daughter takes in this information and funnels it into her art and her storytelling. She is a non-fiction type of kid, and I love to see how she is filling in the blanks with some very cool information.

What was your favorite field trip growing up?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

