Three Hundred Fourteen: Delight

“Nothing in the world is permanent, and we’re foolish when we ask anything to last, but surely we’re still more foolish not to take delight in it while we have it.”  – W. Somerset Maugham

Tuesday, November 11th

There are some days that I really remember how very important it is to provide a healthy diet of delight for my children.

Sometimes I am so busy whisking them out the door to school or the next adventure that I forget that beyond the ticking clock is a leisurely day where we will get to where we need or want to go all in due time. And we will savor every minute of it.

My daughter was home from school today in honor of Veterans Day. It felt like a good day to take the kids to the zoo. They made the list of things they wanted to see and we visited all those animals. Stinky goats. Roaring lions. Cute little meerkats. It was a fun day. A fun day that could only be made better with donuts! We went to the good donut shop, and each picked out our favorite flavor. My daughter skimmed all the chocolate off the top of her donut before eating the cakey part. My son left crumbs everywhere. I inhaled mine.

The things that delight my kids delight me too. We all need to treat children to something special once in a while, inner children included.

When was the last time you acknowledged your inner child and treated that playful part of yourself to something special?

More…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

