Three Hundred One: Change of Plans

“Flow in the living moment. We are always in a process of becoming and nothing is fixed. Have no rigid system in you, and you’ll be flexible to change with the ever changing. Open yourself and flow, my friend. Flow in the total openness of the living moment. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves. Moving, be like water. Still, be like a mirror. Respond like an echo.”  – Bruce Lee

Wednesday, October 29th

Even when I have no plans, a sudden task or change puts a certain energy on my day. I was prepared to go to my dental appointment and I got the automated call from the school district last night that students would get out of school two hours early today. I haven’t tried taking two young children to a dental cleaning, and I won’t start now. Plan B.

It’s my bad because I don’t have the school calendar synched with my personal calendar, but this threw me for a loop. So much so that I decided it was finally time to switch dentists to an office that was closer to home. It takes forethought to get out and across town for an hour-long appointment, avoiding gridlock traffic there and back.

In the end, I took the kids to a restaurant and used up the rest of a gift card that was burning a hole in my pocket. We had a fun date in the afternoon and it certainly beat a dental hygienist mucking about in my mouth.

How fixed are you to your schedule?

More…

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

