Two Hundred Ninety Seven: Allegiance

“In every marriage more than a week old there are grounds for divorce. The trick is to find and continue to find grounds for marriage.”  – Robert Anderson
Saturday, October 25th
There aren’t many things that can tarnish a birthday party at a warehouse filled with bouncy castles, but divorce is one of them.
My daughter and I went to a birthday party today for the son of one of my best friends. This boy is sweet and kind, and it is completely unfair that he is in the middle of a not-quite-amicable split. In past years, I have attended his parties and have tried to converse with his father without much luck. This year, I couldn’t do it. I know too many personal things about this person and I just had no initiative to find the small talk entry point.
And there’s something about showing allegiance to my friend. I know that there are mistakes made on both sides during the dissolution of a relationship, but that is not my focus. I want her to know that I have her back and I won’t judge her.
How do you support a friend going through a divorce?
More…
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

