Two Hundred Ninety One: Life in Triplicate

“As the Internet of things advances, the very notion of a clear dividing line between reality and virtual reality becomes blurred, sometimes in creative ways.”  – Geoff Mulgan

Sunday, October 19th

I got to thinking today at how I have been feeling like I am living life in triplicate. Day-to-day living realtime and in the flesh. Recounting my life here on the blog and whatever virtual presence I have on social media. Then there’s my spiritual existence which is always there, but that I’m paying more attention to at specific times throughout my day and week.

There is so much information that flies at me and all of us on any given day. Phone calls, texts, emails, to do lists, apps, RSS feeds, Facebook and the list goes on. I am compelled to try them all out to see how I can best filter out the information I want and need, as I am equally compelled to edit out the ones that no longer serve me. This process alone seems to really hinder my other two levels of existence. Am I really present when I am checking my email on my phone? Am I listening to my intuitive self when I hear that text ping?

It’s exhausting.

How do you balance all the trappings of modern-day living?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

