Two Hundred Eighty Seven: After School Special

“Today is life-the only life you are sure of. Make the most of today. Get interested in something. Shake yourself awake. Develop a hobby. Let the winds of enthusiasm sweep through you. Live today with gusto.”  – Dale Carnegie

Wednesday, October 15th

My daughter is studying yoga after school with several of her schoolmates. It’s beyond adorable to see the lights off in the room and the kids all stretched out letting it go. Not in the Frozen way, but in that old-fashioned Indian way.

It reminded me of a website I had come across on Transcendental Mediation for children. Since reported cases of childhood anxiety are increasing it is thought that TM can help children to manage their own stress levels. My understanding is that the TM approach is quite an investment, so I went on a wing and a prayer that my husband and I would be able to teach our kids skills to bring down their tension and diffuse stress without a course. A huge part of this is knowing how to do this for myself and modeling it for my children; it is a huge struggle to be present in the moment and control frustration, anger and disappointment. I wonder why by 40 I haven’t got a better handle on this for myself. Maybe starting in your youth is the best idea…work lifelong to learn discipline and self-respect and emotional intelligence.

She seems to have fun in the class. She told me that she wanted to take it so she grow up to be like me. That melted my heart. I suppose I should have questioned her further about what she meant. I know that she sees me as someone who does yoga and tai chi, but my hope is that she sees herself as someone who at age six is doing yoga and becoming more attuned with her body and emotions.

If you could start a new hobby today what would it be?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

