Two Hundred Eighty Four: Parent Chat

“What is a friend? I will tell you… it is someone with whom you dare to be yourself.”  – Frank Crane

Sunday, October 12th

There is a local gym that offers birthday parties in a massive inflatable bouncy obstacle course that then progresses into a cake and snacks room. Yes, the kids are having fun but I always go for the great side chat that happens between the parents. It is so rare that I am in a room with these parents for a fixed amount of time where our kids aren’t demanding attention, or we all are thinking about the next somewhere else to be. These people I know as parents become more like adults again.

We’ve all been on this school adventure together for about 18 months now, but there are still a few parents I haven’t really met yet. I introduced myself to a couple new friends and struck up some small chat. It’s funny how it quickly progressed into talk that had absolutely nothing about kids. It reminded me of how much I thirst to be taken as a “Tasha” and not as a mom, particularly by these people. We can pigeonhole one another so easily, and I like us all to break out of that mold. At the end of the day, I am still a mom but it is nice to be seen as “Tasha the Mom” not just “That Girl’s Mom”.

Do you have friends or acquaintances who pigeonhole you?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

