Two Hundred Seventy Seven: So. Very. Tired.

“Everything sooner or later gets tired! A stormy sea gets tired and becomes a calm sea; a calm sea too gets tired and becomes a stormy sea! Everything sooner or later gets tired!”  – Mehmet Murat ildan

Sunday, October 5th

I lived in a hostel when I first moved to this city. My bunk was in the same room with five other beds, and people came and left at all hours. It was constant noise. I don’t know how I managed to get sleep because I’m an incredibly light sleeper, but I did. I think I wore a toque and a hoodie and sandwiched my head between two pillows. I need to find my toque and a hoodie.

I need sleep. I wake up at odd hours and can’t get back to sleep. The cats wake me up at 4 am to let them out and now my bladder is used to me waking in the middle of the night. Today I couldn’t get back to sleep. I got some emailing done and felt great until it started nearing 7 am and then I realized I should get some more sleep. That was about the time that the kids started waking up and jumping all over my husband and I.

I have PMS. We were still recuperating from yesterday’s birthday party. My husband and I had a three-hour budget meeting that also included some touchy subjects. And there was a birthday party with two live ponies scheduled for the afternoon. I lost the plot between the meeting and the birthday party. I needed a good cry and got some of that tension out, but kept my sunglasses on for a couple of hours afterwards to shield my puffy eyes.

As much as I want to catch up on this blog by writing a number of posts per evening, I might have to figure out another way to get the writing in at earlier hours. The screen time is not serving my health.

Can you operate on little sleep?

More…

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

