Two Hundred Seventy One: Doctor Office

“The greatest mistake in the treatment of diseases is that there are physicians for the body and physicians for the soul, although the two cannot be separated.”  – Plato

Monday, September 29th

My husband was still feeling under the weather, so I drove him to the clinic today. Our insurance is notoriously bad, and doesn’t cover the naturopathic care that he’d prefer so he scheduled an appointment with a regular doctor.

He is leery of doctors after having a rough couple of years with different medical issues. I figured it would be kind for my son and I to go along with him and wait in the lobby while he went to the appointment. The lobby was nice and had a special area where my son could sit down and play with toys. I kept switching his toys out rapidly so he wouldn’t grow weary of waiting, and before we knew it my husband was back with us. He had some blood tests and then we were on our way home.

My husband seemed to feel a little better even just after having seen the doctor. I’m not saying he was making the illness up, but there definitely seemed to be a positive effect from having been seen and heard by a professional. I’ve wondered if he was manifesting some of the stress he had over changing from one job to the other, and I’m glad that he mentioned that to the doctor. More often than not, our experience has been that western doctors stay focused on the nuts and bolts of the medical texts and don’t put much credence in what a burdened soul can do to the body.

Has your body ever failed completely due to stress?

More…

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

