Two Hundred Seventy Nine: Doing the Cool Work That Needs to be Done

“Our problems stem from our acceptance of this filthy, rotten system.”   – Dorothy Day

“There must exist a paradigm, a practical model for social change that includes an understanding of ways to transform consciousness that are linked to efforts to transform structures.”  – Bell Hooks

Tuesday, October 7th

I struggle with what I’m going to do with my life when I’m grown up. But I am grown up. And I’m doing stuff, right? But every once in a rare while, I come across something new that fires me up with hope and excitement that I will find or create the meaningful soul work I was meant to do.

Today I found the Morning Side Center online. On the organization’s About page, “Morningside Center works hand in hand with educators to help young people develop the values, personal qualities, and skills they need to thrive and contribute to their communities—from the classroom to the world.” The good stuff.

While I don’t necessarily see myself working directly with children, I like the ethos of getting to the heart of things and inspiring change from within. Children are taught the intricacies of the very difficult job of resolving conflict. This is a life skill I wish every community took on for its children – embedding the social skills needed to create that more just and peaceful world we’d all like to see. Or at least the sort of world it seems hard to create on our own as well-meaning “skilled” adults.

This might be a cynical thought but I wonder if adults get to a certain age where progress seems futile, so it seems more reasonable to invest in a future generation. Lately, I have felt intrinsically the overbearing weight of resolving conflict between adults. It’s emotionally draining and it taps into every little insecurity you have. If we really…I mean, REALLY…committed to a generational shift in the emotional education of our youth then maybe new solutions would arise. Maybe these youth would grow up and challenge us to stand up or step aside in decision-making.

For now, I’m glad to see there are single organizations out there modeling a healthy way to educate our children with compassion and honesty and bravery.

If you could create any type of non-profit to change the world, what would it be?

More…

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

