Two Hundred Seventy Four: Questions Questions Questions

“An average four-year-old child asks 437 questions a day.” – Unknown

Thursday, October 2nd

My son is questioning his world and most of those requests, curiosities, and quandaries are directed at yours truly.

I love it. I really do. Of course we want a child who has a thirst for filling up their developing brains with all sorts of experience and knowledge about how the world works. But in the moment there is such a sense of urgency to knowing where the yellow crayon is or wondering why the cat’s ears are doing that that I find it hard to summon the patience to provide 437 answers.

I love Catherine Wallace’s quote, “Listen earnestly to anything your children want to tell you, no matter what. If you don’t listen eagerly to the little stuff when they are little, they won’t tell you the big stuff when they are big, because to them all of it has always been big stuff.”

I am already feeling a disconnect between my daughter and I where she is feeling that parents and adults just don’t understand kids. I felt the same way when I was a child, so I want to learn how to bend down and listen to both of my children authentically. Answer their questions. Discipline them with love and care. Show them how much they mean to this world.

More…

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

