Two Hundred Seventy Five: Busy Busy Week

“Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just don’t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: “I’m not going to edit your résumé, sweetie, because it’s not a priority.” “I don’t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.” – Wall Street Journal

Friday, October 3rd

There just never seems to be enough hours in the day. There never could be. We’d always find more things to fill up each moment.

Today was the last day of my husband’s old job. He got the job he’d been pining for, and a raise along with it but had to do what he could to seal up the projects he’d been working on. He wanted to leave on a high note but he’d been home for most of the week trying to heal up. I’m so grateful he put his health first.

I had to get my thoughts together and send out thank you’s for last night’s Harvest Potluck at my daughter’s school. It was a great success and the food was fantastic. My husband was feeling well enough to attend and that meant a lot to me. There wasn’t too much time to look backwards – my daughter’s very belated 6th birthday celebration was tomorrow. It was an ambitious party, so I had to write out an itinerary and make sure I had enough helpers stationed at different areas. Onwards and forwards!

Do you work more effectively when you’re busy?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

