Two Hundred Seventy Eight: Re-Reading

“Any time women come together with a collective intention, it’s a powerful thing. Whether it’s sitting down making a quilt, in a kitchen preparing a meal, in a club reading the same book, or around the table playing cards, or planning a birthday party, when women come together with a collective intention, magic happens.”  – Phylicia Rashad

Monday, October 6th

I started a book club today.

Over the last year, I’ve developed a small group of women I’m especially fond of and I thought this would be a good way to get us working our brains together. I also have not picked up a work of fiction and read it cover-to-cover in some time now.

The phone was buzzing all day with texted ideas for titles, where to meet, favorite authors and such. I love it. It’s been far too long since I was active in a book club. The last one was based out of my workplace – just over a half-dozen women working or volunteering at an adult literacy center – and the book titles were fun and interesting. It was the only book club I’ve ever participated in so I don’t know if it’s normal that the same people skipped reading the book every month and that there was more emphasis on the food served than the book discussed. It brought us together, and that was lovely.

There are only three members in the club so far. I’m up for reading classics that I never got around to reading, along with more contemporary authors. It is always exciting to read a book that I normally wouldn’t choose off the shelves myself. Really, the only limitation is that the book should be readily accessible at our public library so we can save a few trees and a few dollars.

This also coincides with my self-realization that I might want to get my eyes checked out. I’m 40 and have never walked into either an optometrist or ophthalmologist’s office. It just never came up and I am thankful for my good vision, but I figured it’s time to check it out. I’ll be giving my peepers quite a workout after all.

What sort of activities do you like to join up with others to enjoy?

More…

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

