Two Hundred Sixty Three: Qi-Full

“If you take anything I say with any seriousness whatsoever, go study Yang style tai chi. It will make you live longer.”  – Hal Sparks

Sunday, September 21st

I’ve made it to 40 and I feel pretty great. I like to think that I can live a good long life full of movement and peace, and I’m humble enough to know that I won’t get there on my own hunching over a computer writing blog posts. Enter tai chi and qi gong.

I back Tai Chi up in the same way that people rep Amway or Tupperware. I am so sold that it will change people’s lives that I am willing to be that person who talks on and on about it. And there’s good reason why. Research has shown that it is a gentle way to improve health and increase mobility.

I didn’t do tai chi today, but my Tai Chi teacher (“Sifu”) invited me to her home for a Housewarming/Birthday Party. It was so nice to be in a room filled with friends devoted to improving their health. It has been quite a magical process meeting others through my tai chi classes; it really was my re-introduction to the adult world after being so completely focused on parenting. One hour of exercise per week with people who share the same interest and commitment to health and wellbeing.

What I love about my Sifu is that she is unabashedly unique. She is wacky, fierce, feminine, funny and loves life. A person like that is bound to attract good people to her, and I appreciate her presence in my life.

Do you have a mentor or role model in your life?

More…

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

