Two Hundred Fifty Nine: Young/Old

“Be kind, don’t judge, and have respect for others. If we can all do this, the world would be a better place. The point is to teach this to the next generation.”  – Jasmine Guiness

Wednesday, September 17th

Never before have I had so many friends that are younger than me. And older than me. It’s nice to be 40. It feels like a tipping point between youth and age.

What I’ve realized as of late is that kindness, judgment and respect are lifelong goals with continual teachings coming throughout our lives. My older friends are struggling with the big issues just as much as the younger ones; there just might be a different angle based on life experience or situation.

Sometimes I feel like I am judgmental of young people who are incredibly responsible. I want them to be flawed and to build character through their mistakes. I want people older than me to have an overwhelming sense of calm and acceptance of life, its incongruities and its finite nature. I want to know that at the age I am right now that there is some sort of teeter, and I am standing on the balance point feeling more level than I ever have. But I don’t have that sense of control. We are all stretching and coiling through life in our own ways and the mission of achieving balance is a daily one.

How do you feel about your age in the spectrum of ages?

More…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

