Two Hundred Fifty Six: Bed

“…[F]or there are times when bed is the only place on earth where peace is to be had, and that was one of them.” – Richard Llewellyn

Sunday, September 14th

I’m sorry, Dorothy. There are some places in this world that are just like my home! Now my bed, on the other hand, well, you can click your heels and say “There’s no place like my own bed” and that is an actual fact.

I woke up drenched in sweat from my fever and cold even though I had several layers of clothes on. I managed a shower so I wouldn’t be laying in sweaty clothes, and then proceeded to spend the rest of the day in bed. My family (including my out-of-towner brother) toured the city while I toured the inner sanctum of my mind.

I can handle being sick with a temporary illness; I know the strength of my body. It is the being sick outside of the old familiar places that can be really jarring. Trying to heal in another bed just doesn’t feel right. So I made the best of my station and banned all devices and distractions. This was a time for genuine rest and repair. Bed was sanctuary and I took the full dose of that medicine.

Where do you want to be when you feel sick?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

