Two Hundred Fifty Seven: Spare Room

“Mighty proud I am that I am able to have a spare bed for my friends.”  – Samuel Pepys 

Monday, September 15th

My brother left at the crack of dawn leaving a gap where a longer visit could have been. I was still not feeling 100%, but I felt determined to tackle the inevitable laundry pile of my own sweat-soaked sheets and any other sullied clothes from over the weekend. It felt good to be able to carry the basket down to the shared laundry room and do that much for the day.

Pulling sheets off of beds and washing used towels reminds me of how nice it is to have a private space for guests to visit. It’s a gift. I love having loved ones stay, but I also like my friends and family to have an opportunity to escape the world (me included) at the end of the day. Vice versa, it is much easier on the family knowing that there aren’t sleepers in the next room or upstairs who might wake up if someone has a middle-of-the-night crying fit.

Space is a luxury I am most grateful for, at home and during travels.

How do you accommodate travelers in your home, or do you?

More…

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

