Two Hundred Forty Eight: The Perfect Storm

“There’s always another storm. It’s the way the world works. Snowstorms, rainstorms, windstorms, sandstorms, and firestorms. Some are fierce and others are small. You have to deal with each one separately, but you need to keep an eye on what’s brewing for tomorrow.”  – Maria V. Snyder

Saturday, September 6th

This was supposed to be a fun jam-packed Saturday: a community meeting in the morning, my daughter’s belated birthday celebration in the afternoon, and a visit with my folks as they passed through town in the evening. Then the storm hit. The perfect storm. The perfect shit-storm, that is.

My poor girl had been up all night Thursday with a fever, so I set her up with an impromptu bed on the couch and slept on the floor beside her. I decided it was best to keep her home from school Friday. I also canceled the party so not to send germs home with the goodie bags for ten other children.

My parents were still slated to come through town, but even those plans had been rocked by drama. I’d received a strange text from my uncle saying that my parents needed to call me. My mom’s health yo-yo’s, so I figured that her back had gone out and they’d had to return home early. My imagination went the distance. I received a short voicemail that said they were in the middle of a rather crazy Minnesota storm and had lost power. This also concerned me so I tried texting again. And so the cellular debacle continued. Flights hadn’t been canceled, and they were safe where they were so I would see them Saturday. My parents’ flight number wasn’t showing up on the internet when I googled it, so I tried texting my uncle again and he confirmed that they were at the airport. What was happening?

I received a call from my Dad (at exactly the time he said his plane would land) letting me know which doors of the airport to pick him up at. Wow. They were here! My kids were over-the-moon to see their Grandma and Grandpa and I was excited to see my Mom and Dad. My Mom had been on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to reunite with a long-lost brother and had some sweet memories to share with us. The storm had come through their spot during the visit and my other uncle had insisted that my mom text me to let me know about the storm. My panic ensued and that started off the rash of unnecessary texts and calls.

We weathered that circumstantial storm and at the end of it all, I had my parents and my family with me (including a little girl on the mend.)

Are you good at keeping perspective of the bigger picture when “storms” hit?

More…

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

