Two Hundred Forty One: Chores. Chores. Chores.

“My favorite way of getting out of doing chores is by acting like I’m asleep. But it never works.”  – Devon Werkheiser

Saturday, August 30th

I thought there was a very good chance this blog would be filled with stories of parachute jumps and wind boarding adventures, but when all is said and done I keep coming back to the riveting world of chores.

They’re always there. Laundry. Dishes. You empty one load and another stack is waiting to be loaded in. It never ends.

About the most zen I can get about it all is to appreciate a warm sink full of water when the dishwasher breaks down. I think the problem is that these daily jobs are mechanized like everything else. When I wash my dishes by hand, there is time for conversation or meditation. When I rake the leaves up outside instead of using a blower, I am inviting people to stop and talk to me instead of blasting through the job.

There is room for me to grow in this department. My cohousing chore team always sneaks up on me and I blast through my work instead of working with my actual team. Getting it done feels more efficient than meeting up to work with others.

How do you get all the mundane things in life done?

More…

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

