Two Hundred Twenty Four: Getting Out of the Way

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”  – Lao Tzu

Wednesday, August 13th

Lately I have been realizing the power and the richness of getting out of the way of things and letting them flow to where they need to be. Inevitably, this benefits me too.

It is easiest to conceptualize this with physical things like my possessions. I decided to pass on two very nice backpacks – one a computer backpack and the other a backpack cooler – to others who would truly appreciate them more. I’m also moving out a ton of magazines to my daughter’s classroom so they can use them for art projects. I used the Buy Nothing group in my neighborhood to move items last week, and when a sweet unused phonics system came up I was first to respond to get this to use with my son; I ducked out after a mom with twins reported this would be perfect for her. A minute after I removed my name the owner gifted it to this mom. It felt so much better knowing others were appreciating these items than to hold on to them for myself. They’re little things, but they add up to an overwhelming sense of positivity and connection with others.

There have been times in my life when this has happened with people too. A lover’s affection turns someone else’s way or a friend starts to hang out more with a mutual friend instead of me. It’s hard to do, but letting go has always seemed to be the best option. As Bonnie Raitt crooned, “I can’t make you love me.” And now I enjoy a life full of people who want to be near me because we’ve chosen one another.

Do you feel the richness of giving in your life?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

