Two Hundred Twenty One: Changes

“Hard times will always reveal true friends.” – Unknown

Sunday, August 10th

My third job in this city was working a concession stand at a local theatre. The job itself was a step down from where I wanted to be, but I met amazing people there. One of the gems from that time who still shines in my life is Susan.

At the time, she worked in marketing and was good at what she did. She was very supportive of me and offered me side jobs so I could earn extra income. She helped me transition into working part-time at the theatre and full-time into an AmeriCorps program that suited my interests and abilities. She left her job at about the same time to work with a non-profit.

I lost touch with her for several years and then bumped into her in a cafe one day. She was glowing. She was working several different jobs, and had started to practice a powerful healing modality. It was clear that something in her life had changed. She looked lighter, more airy, and had that shine in her eyes.

She has inspired me to work towards the goals that I have, change the world around me for the better, and bring healing to myself in order to support those around me too. Sometimes people who are so inspiring to others can have a difficult time inspiring themselves. I hope that in some small way, I can do this for Susan and all of my friends – remind them why they are wonderful for being who they are.

How do you take care of your friends?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

