Two Hundred Six: The Trouble With “Little House on the Prairie”

“The way of the pioneer is always rough.”  – Harvey S. Firestone

Saturday, July 26th

My daughter and I have been reading the books of Laura Ingalls. From her childhood “Little House in the Big Woods” straight to her last tome “The First Four Years” about her first years of marriage, and now we’re starting on the ones in between.

I rented the first season of the TV series, and had a chance to watch a couple episodes with her this evening. What have I learned? One, that most of us in this day and age do not work half as hard as they did a couple hundred years ago. Here I am proud for taking my family on a camping vacation dotted with stays at B&Bs and apartment stays when this family had been sleeping in their carriage beds for months until Pa had finished building the house.

My husband and I have watched the reality series where modern day families are put in the situation of living and working as pioneers did, and I don’t think I could do it. I have a hard enough time keeping up with all the modern conveniences that are supposed to take the toil out of things.

What would it have been like to be a 40-year-old woman 200 years ago?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

