Two Hundred Four: Celebration By Association

“Faith is about doing. You are how you act, not just how you believe.” – Mitch Albom

Tuesday, July 23rd

My husband is a Rasta man. He is strong. And he does good in this world. Today, he praises Ras Tafari – the Emperor Haile Selassie I – on the birthday or “earthlight” of the Ethiopian Emperor. And today, I do too.

I have a strange embodiment of my spiritual beliefs in that they are not collected and embodied in any one spiritual discipline at all. But I would never deride my partner for his faith and love in Rastafari. He has grown so much as a person in his Rasta livity that I feel it has helped me and my children to grow too. I have learned to be tolerant and understanding when he leaves home for an event that will have him out of the home all night. I have tried to be less selfish and ask him questions about the things I do not understand about Rastafari. I challenge him on the points that I don’t agree with, and don’t expect to change his mind. I am still learning and I forget many of the things he commits to memory, but I appreciate having a connection to spiritual discipline.

I don’t mean to pious about this. It just happens to be a pretty big part of our lives. I suspect it would be the same if he was a Christian; however, I have observed that most Christian males I know are married to Christian wives. Why is it that there seems to be more women practicing their Christian faith with husbands who are not? There are a multitude of blog posts like this online where women are in turmoil over their partner who is a non-believer.

I went through many insecure moments in the past wondering if my husband wouldn’t be more happy with a woman who shared more of his beliefs directly. Then I think back to the time when he was questioning this himself, prior to when we got married. Obviously having shared beliefs allows a couple to turn to something outside of themselves when things get tough; and things get tough sooner or later in any relationship. It took years for us to see that we were turning to something larger. The tenants of Rastafari in which he finds strength in are the same ideas that I refer to as “morals” or “common sense ways to be a kind and compassionate human”. Fortunately, he saw that too and we meander in this life together.

Does faith play a role in your life? Is it your faith or one you were raised with or connected to through others?

More…

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

