Two Hundred Eight: The Mother of All Mothers

“To ferment your own food is to lodge a small but eloquent protest – on behalf of the senses and the microbes – against the homogenization of flavors and food experiences now rolling like a great, undifferentiated lawn across the globe. It is also a declaration of independence from an economy that would much prefer we remain passive consumers of its standardized commodities, rather than creators of idiosyncratic products expressive of ourselves and of the places where we live, because your pale ale or sourdough bread or kimchi is going to taste nothing like mine or anyone else’s.”  -Michael Pollan

Monday, July 28th

There’s a line from John Cusack’s character in the movie “High Fidelity” where he says, “Well, I’ve been listening to my gut since I was 14 years old, and frankly speaking, I’ve come to the conclusion that my guts have shit for brains.” This very well might be the best quote I’ve ever read.

I do feel like my gut has shit for brains. It tells me to finish off the Costco container of Jelly Bellies left over from my son’s birthday. On my own. It sneaks chocolate in the middle of the night. It is impulsive and fun and gets knocked down because of it.

Now I know I am my gut. In fact, research is claiming that the bacteria in our gut may affect our emotional response. This feels to be right. I know when I have a bacterial imbalance in my gut, and it does contribute to a general sense of cloudy thinking and judgment. And when I am nervous, it is my gut that feels quivery.

Today marked week one of a new fermentation project. I am trying my hand at brewing my first round of Jun and Kombucha. These fermented drinks are thought to contribute to the growth of beneficial intestinal flora, and hence all of the great things that stem from a healthy gut. It has me excited to make a crock of sauerkraut now!

How do you balance health with impulsive food or lifestyle choices?

More…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

