Two Hundred Two: Homeward Bound

“You’ll have to excuse me, I’m not at my best/I’ve been gone for a week, I’ve been drunk since I left/These so-called vacations will soon be my death/I’m so sick from the drink, I need home for a rest.” – Spirit of the West

Monday, July 21st

This song was a good ol’ Canadian anthem back in the day. But these days you could scratch out the words “drunk” and “drink” and replace them with “camping” and “tent”.

After being gone for almost two weeks, my family had come to a crossroads. We had created a rhythm of stopping, looking around, breathing it all in, and then packing up to travel to the next spot. We were getting good at this, and were now asking ourselves whether we could keep going if we had the chance.

But it was moot. We needed to go home, wash clothes, feed the cats, park the car, and sleep in our own beds. Traveling is always more enjoyable when I have a solid home base to come back to.

Do you ever scheme on how to become a professional traveler?

More…

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

