Two Hundred: Flaking Out in Paradise aka “Vacation Menstruation”

“When things go wrong, you’ll find they usually go on getting worse for some time; but when things once start going right they often go on getting better and better.”  – C.S. Lewis

Saturday, July 19th

This leg of the family vacation took us across the border and to San Juan Island to stay with some dear family friends. While I had micro-managed so many details of the rest of our voyage, I had simply planned “Fun” for San Juan Island.

Fun was happening all around me, but it took me a while to catch up with it. This was the day that my body decided to unleash the powerful tides of my moon time, and I was running to the bathroom every twenty minutes to avoid a mess. My husband was reasoning with his friend, my kids were playing with our friends’ children, and I was able to reconnect with my friend April when I wasn’t feeling like I had been dragged behind a bus stomach-down.

Most of the time I am able to celebrate my moon time for the absolute feminine power it embodies, but today was not that day. The sweet thing is that I was spending time with a woman who is pregnant, and her body is doing all sorts of flip-flops with the change in hormones. If anyone was sympathetic to the cause, it was her.

Do you ever feel like your body holds you back?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

