One Hundred Ninety-Nine: Unexpected Reunion

“Let’s just be fabulously where we are and who we are. You be you and I’ll be me, today and today and today, and let’s trust the future to tomorrow. Let the stars keep track of us. Let us ride our own orbits and trust that they will meet. May our reunion be not a finding but a sweet collision of destinies!” – Jerry Spinelli

Friday, July 18th

I was fun in university. So much so, that I dubbed my girl posse the “FunGirls” and it stuck with that group over the years…even as I became less visibly fun. I didn’t travel back for the surfing weekends in Tofino or get in on the Coachella pilgrimages. I was a few years older than my compatriots and was busy getting married and starting my family. It felt like the death of my identity as a supremely fun Canadian.

Today, the family and I focused on stopping at beaches and mountains and seeing as much urban nature as we could squeeze into the morning. We were seduced downtown to grab a muffin from the tastiest bakery when I remembered to detour to a tea shop. I popped into a cafe on the way back to the car and we’d certainly worn out our parking fare. We were en route back to the car when I heard my name. It was a FUNGIRL!!!!

Now let me be honest in saying that she is gorgeous. Manicure, pedicure, perfectly chic clothes, lustrous hair, and stories from her recent trip with her new husband to Mount Everest. I had sweaty armpits, frizzy hair, a daughter who was afraid to say hello, and shorts that are just a little too tight after gaining a few pounds (or ten) over the last several years. And you know what? I rocked it. I love my life. I am so blessed to have everything I have…and it was fun to see an old friend for the fabulous person that she is.

How do you feel when you bump into an old friend unexpectedly?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

