One Hundred Ninety One: Home

Thursday, July 10th

There is something about standing on the ground that you grew up on. Touching the earth where you dug as a child, looking at the trees you kissed under as a teenager, and smelling the ocean that you swam in at nighttime as a young adult. This land holds all the memories of all that have passed here before.

I have brought my children and husband here hoping that maybe, in some small way, they see what it was like for me to grow up here. The thing is that we (the town and I both) have changed. We’ve grown older, met people who have loved us and scarred us, and started new lives apart from one another.

I woke up today, Friday, before anyone else and walked down to the inlet close to our campsite. I took off my sandals and put my feet to the earth. And I listened. Tiny birds joined me. A squirrel came over. The sun rose, and this place told me that it still remembered me. I brought that energy up from the earth, and brought it down into my body to hold onto it for as long as I can.

How do you feel when you return to your hometown?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

