One Hundred Eighty Five: Does a Country Have a Birthday?

“If you think Independence Day is America’s defining holiday, think again. Thanksgiving deserves that title, hands-down.”  – Tony Snow

Friday, July 4th

I read a headline “Happy Birthday, America”, and it rubbed me the wrong way…so much so that I decided that I was okay not celebrating the 4th with any sort of fanfare.

It was a low-key day at home, and as the bedroom started to get darker at dusk I pulled out some glowy toys for the kids to drown out the distraction of the illegal fireworks blasting all over my neighborhood. How much money is spent on fireworks every year in the United States? Or on crappy processed food to serve at BBQs? I might be one big ol’ humbug, but it really ticks me off that so many people would feign that the United States was born when a bunch of white men decided it was time. It deprives this land and its peoples of knowing what culture was like here for thousands of years prior, what traditions and rites were celebrated and where did Native American people settle and why.

This country was built on the backs of others. From the sweat and effort of generations of slaves. From the lands that were occupied by others. I know next to nothing about these alternative histories, but I give thanks to those who shared their stories so that we can learn about the diversity within our borders.

Do you know about or seek out histories written from a different perspective? 

More…

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

