One Hundred Eighty Two: Double Whammy

“If you want to conquer fear, don’t sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.”  – Dale Carnegie

Tuesday, July 1st

Days are busy. I very well may have over-committed myself to many wonderful causes, and am now trying to make it fit into nice neat smooth-flowing days. They can and do, but in between the planning and the doing comes too much anxiety over whether I will be able to do it all. When I plan it, I do it. It’s as simple as that. And when I just do it, I don’t have the time to sit around and fret about what is or isn’t getting done. So life is for the living, as they say.

Now my new challenge is to show more grace towards other people in their own busy days. I was on the way out the door with both kids to lead a work party when I got a text asking when and where the meet-up planned immediately after the work party would take place. It was annoying because I was mentally already making that transition out of my house, and that (as a mother and generally scatterbrained person) is a feat for me. This interrupted my flow. I replied with enough information for my friend to go on, and tried to stay on track.

More than 20 people showed up for the work party. That might have made me nervous if I knew that ahead of time, but helping each family find a volunteer job one-by-one created a gentle flow to the morning. It was lovely to spend the time in service with others, and helped cushion the transition to meeting up with my friend afterwards. Volunteering always helps set me straight and remember that we’re all working towards much of the same things – to keep a roof over our heads, food in our mouths, and love in our hearts. And that helped me to be more compassionate and present in listening to my friend when she needed it.

Being busy and having the right perspective during these times can be such a gift.

How do you react to being busy?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

