One Hundred Eighty One: Reconnecting

“We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection. Love is not something we give or get; it is something that we nurture and grow, a connection that can only be cultivated between two people when it exists within each one of them – we can only love others as much as we love ourselves. Shame, blame, disrespect, betrayal, and the withholding of affection damage the roots from which love grows. Love can only survive these injuries if they are acknowledged, healed and rare.” – Brené Brown

Monday, June 30th

There are some people you know you’ll never cut corners with, whom command the highest respect and love. There’s so sense in pulling any BS because it would only hurt yourself to be treating a dear friend so poorly.

I’m thankful that I had the good sense to go visit one such friend after I asked her to serve as my personal reference on a credit card application. It was such a random request from out of the blue that I sent her an update of how I’d been doing and asked if she’d like to meet up. I’ve always found those “Can you be my reference?” calls with just enough small banter to be really annoying. It feels forced, and this was not the nature of my relationship with this person at all. I’d known her since I moved to this city, and I was happy that I could still text her and arrange a meeting just like that.

I went down barely after my dinner was done and caught her and her husband eating corndogs. She showed me all the changes in the house since I’d been there last and then we looked at all the beautiful stones she has displayed in each room. She and I both share a love for rocks and minerals, and have a good intuitive sense about what pieces feel good. Each stone she picked up had a story…

I have several friends whom I refer to as “sisters”, but there is a special magic when she and I refer to one another as siblings. She loves me for who I am – from that flaky young woman that left half her personal furniture in her storage space for far too long to the mother, wife, and woman that I am today. She’s my parenting mentor, and a good responsible, fun, and loving person all around.

It was even worth staying later than the 10:00 curfew after which she and her husband start to talk bubbles. Now the key is to make sure that I don’t leave years between this visit and the next.

Who would you love to reconnect with today if you could?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

