One Hundred Seventy Nine: Humblebrag Hag

“Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it’s thinking of yourself less.”  – C.S. Lewis

Saturday, June 28th

I have to get over myself. I actually posted a picture of a weedy park on social media and wrote, “What do you do when your volunteers don’t show and the Parks department doesn’t drop off tools for your work party? You start pulling those weeds one-by-one on your own.”

When I got home, a copy of Wired magazine was in my mailbox. The feature story was on social media etiquette, starting off with a warning against pulling the humblebrag. Urban Dictionary defines the humblebrag as “subtly letting others now about how fantastic your life is while undercutting it with a bit of self-effacing humor or ‘woe is me’ gloss.”

I re-read the post and wonder if it really qualifies as a humblebrag and then I remember that at said solo weeding event I was spotted by a group of Leica photographers in a workshop with a notable photographer and then I turned around and posted about that too. I still crack myself up with my lack of tact.

But in all seriousness, there are a whole lot of things that you, me, and everybody do daily online that we would never pull if we were face-to-face with others. I would walk away if you showed me 125 pictures of your adorable child and their first lost tooth. I would think you were an obnoxious prick if you (with an exception if this is your wedding day) announced in a room full of people “Today is the day that I married my best friend.”

Do we accept that this is just how we communicate now?

Are our social lives so entirely mitigated through screens now that we lose sight of how our online behaviour comes off in the big picture?

More…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

