One Hundred Seventy Three: Running on Empty

“It’s better to be a lion for a day than a sheep all your life.”  – Elizabeth Kenny

Sunday, June 22nd

I had gusto when I was young. I wanted experiences so I tried a lot of new things. Was it a love for life or a fear of being sheltered? I don’t know. At some point, I slowed down and became a whole lot more sensible about things. Wearing sensible shoes. Going to bed at a sensible hour. Dancing like a sensible person. There is not a whole lot of fun in the completely sensible life.

But this year of paying attention to my life has helped me to fill my days with both the mundane and the insane. Sunday was a double-whammy of being over-tired from a general lack of sleep from the previous night’s campout and an evening volunteer gig helping out at another concert. But I stormed ahead. In fact, I was the first volunteer to arrive only to find that I hadn’t actually been added to the list at all. But I stayed on to help anyway…and it was great fun to have another night of people-watching and music-grooving. It was going to take me a couple of days to catch up on rest but I’m alive and I’ve got the time for that. It’s time to be a lion.

Do you agree with the quote, “Everything in moderation. Even moderation.”?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

