One Hundred Sixty Four: An Ode to Sleep

“I love sleep. My life has the tendency to fall apart when I’m awake, you know?” – Ernest Hemingway

Friday, June 13th

Friday evenings tend to be open for me. My husband is managing a musical event, and the kids are in bed. It’s the perfect time for me to enjoy some solo time and write, listen to music, read, or catch up on whatever I want to. Sometimes I just have to crawl in with my little snugglers and go to bed after reading a couple of chapters of “Little House on the Prairie.”

I used to feel so guilty about doing this. There are always so many things to do that sleeping through them all seemed to be cheating. Now I don’t feel like I’m wasting time. I feel like I’m preparing myself to be more effective and engaged tomorrow. Plus, it feels so darn good to be curled up in a comfortable bed when I’m tired.

Do you get enough sleep?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

