One Hundred Sixty One: Recovering

“You can get the monkey off your back, but the circus never leaves town.” – Anne Lamott

Tuesday, June 10th

Today I eavesdropped on a couple of strangers talking on a bus. At first they were talking about how many people tend to leap into marriage without giving the relationship time to mature before matrimony. Then I got the gist that they were talking about people they knew from the Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) community. The man said, “Don’t confuse ‘recovery’ with ‘sobriety’. Recovery is building things up again and gaining what you have lost.”

It really resonated with me. We can acknowledge our struggles in life, that is one thing. It is quite another to dig deep and work on those issues as we may every day. Recovery isn’t a passive state of being, it is a continual action – a movement towards health, wellbeing, and self-knowledge.

There are areas of my life where I acknowledge my challenges, and others where I genuinely feel like I am in recovery.

Are you recovering from the painful parts of your past?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

