One Hundred Fifty Eight: Guiding Not Doing

“True leadership lies in guiding others to success. In ensuring that everyone is performing at their best, doing the work they are pledged to do and doing it well.”  – Bill Owens

Saturday, June 7th

On Saturday I took the kids to the local hardware store for a craft workshop. It’s a good esteem builder and the kids love puttering around with hammers and tiny nails….if I can keep my grubby hands off of the hammer.

It is really difficult to mentor people, especially little people, in the art of being independent and taking risks to try new things. It’s exciting and frustrating to see your children try something they haven’t before because it’s expanding their mind. It is also a process wrought with fails, messes, and possibly tears. And I get that these are all good things in the end because they teach my children to be resilient, but sometimes I don’t want to invest the time to go through all the steps that I know that I should.

Fortunately there was a brilliant staff member who engaged all the children in putting their woodworking projects together. He helped my son while I helped my daughter, and modeled how all of us parents could be encouraging our children to embrace their creative and handy selves. And it was cool. They took home two imperfectly-painted wooden toys, and had the time of their lives playing with them for the rest of the day.

What could you gain by losing a sense of control over a situation?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

