One Hundred Fifty Seven: Cupcakes!

“My mother told me on several different occasions that she was livin’ her dream vicariously through me. She once said that I was getting’ to do all the things that she would have wanted to have done.”  – Buck Owens

Friday, June 6th

Today was a day devoted to the Cupcake. I had planned a cupcake playdate with two of my daughter’s friends from school. Three little girls, one younger brother, and a plate full of mini cupcakes, icing, and sprinkles. It was crazy fun to watch the kids go overboard, and then let them run the sugar rush off.

My daughter was enthusiastic, but it occurred to me that I had planned it because I felt it would be fun for her not because she pleaded for it to happen. And with that, I saw that this was the sort of playdate that perhaps I wish I’d always had as a child. Growing up in a small town lends itself to socializing with whomever lives down the street, and 90% of my playtimes were with the girl who lived a couple doors down. Was I pushing my daughter to have fun? Or was I embracing the way that urban playdates go?

I want my children to choose their own friends. I want them to engage their creativity on how to have fun, pursue their interests, and build their lives. But I also want my children to stretch beyond themselves and try new things out, even if that means having a playdate that Mom plans or hanging out with someone new that I know.

Do you live vicariously through anyone else?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

