One Hundred Forty One: Make Someone Something Rad

“I feel that there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people.”  – Vincent van Gogh 

Wednesday, May 21st

My sister-in-law is turning 40 on Friday. She has all that she could ask for, so shopping for a gift for her has proven to always be a challenge. Husband reminded me that the best thing we could give her was a gift from the heart.

I’m pretty good at making those. When my friend turned 40 back in March, I made a retrospective slide show of her years of friendship with “the girls”. Last year, I did the same for my mother-in-law as she turned 60. I couldn’t very well make a third slide show for my SIL, so I opted for a groovy little short film about her life. Using a phone app, I was able to stitch together short video clips into a mini-biography. It’s fun and I think it reflects my SIL’s sweet sentimental and whimsical spirit.

I heard recently that giving something to someone else makes us happier than if we kept it for ourselves. I agree! I love putting my creativity to the challenge to come up with something new for someone I love. To me, it’s a sincere way of showing someone what they mean to me and letting them know that they really mean something.

Could you use your skills to create a unique gift? Who would you give it to?

More…

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

