One Hundred Thirty Eight: No Fears

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.” – Frank Herbert

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”  – Eleanor Roosevelt

Sunday, May 18th

As my husband left the house the other day, my daughter called to him “SAFE TRAVELS! NO FEARS!” It has become a mantra of mine.

When I am feeling gritty and abrasive, I like to either talk it out with someone else or let that feeling evaporate. Afterwards – if I am in a reflective mood – I ask myself what fears a negative situation is bringing up for me. For example, I was feeling really raw after attending a birthday party with my daughter. Neither the parents nor the child made me and my daughter feel particularly welcome in their home. If I dig deeper, there are fears that the family felt obligated to invite my daughter because all the other girls in the class were invited. I fear that I may have neglected guests in my own home when they’ve come to celebrate with me.

We slipped out of the party a few minutes early to make it to a talent show in our community. There were a variety of acts – songs, joke telling, tongue twisters – and then close to the end of the event, my husband said that he’d be singing with our girl. We have gone to a number of these talent shows and she has always expressed an interest in performing, but it was only today that she walked up standing tall and embodying the “No Fear” cause to the core. She sang the song beautifully.

This is the week where most of my lessons are being taught by my lovely girl.

Do you have a quote you truly believe in and stand by?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

