One Hundred Thirty Three: Better Talking

“Communication is a skill that you can learn. It’s like riding a bicycle or typing. If you’re willing to work at it, you can rapidly improve the quality of every part of your life.”  – Brian Tracy

Tuesday, May 13th

I am a 39-year-old student who has been trying lifelong to get a degree in communication. The irony here is that some of you might think I am really studying Communications at an established institution. Let me rephrase this, “It has taken me all of my days and will likely take the rest of my remaining ones, to better my communication style so that I can share my sincere and honest thoughts with others in a clear, concise, and cogent way without stirring up misunderstandings, when possible.” Err, I think that can be boiled down to: I’m trying to talk real good today and better tomorrow.

I set a meeting for today to meet with the PTSA President to talk about how we encourage or discourage discussion at our meetings with other board members and with the parents in general. I care a lot about my daughter’s school, as I do about the committed parents that I’ve met along the way, and I see where breakdowns in communication hold us back. I’m glad that I instigated the discussion and promoted the interests of others who don’t tend to speak up much at meetings. I feel that its important to hear all the voices, or at least have those people leave the meetings feeling heard.

I have benefitted greatly from living in community with a large number of neighbors of all ages. We have our private spheres within our own households, but we come together for work parties, some meals, and to share our common spaces often. There are a lot of opportunities to bump heads and I’m glad that I’m in a space where we can figure out how to work through some of those disagreements. Honest and clear communication is imperative in my life, even though I tend to be a passive person.

Are there voices around you that you just don’t hear or listen to? Could you change your own communication style to improve conversations around you?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

