One Hundred Twenty Nine: Falling Apart

“Thirty-five is when you finally get your head together and your body starts falling apart.” – Caryn Leschen

Friday, May 10th

…if that happens at 35, then you can imagine where this reciprocal relationship is landing me at almost-40! I feel strong mentally but in the last 24 hours, I have been struck by food poisoning and pulled a groin muscle. Gahhh!

Bad food happens. But when it is food you paid for, it is disheartening. Another restaurant gets added to the “Do Not Visit” list and the subtext is that something happened in that restaurant to contribute to the growth of unhealthy bacteria. Yuck.

So I have been gentle with myself today. I ate bland foods and drank tea. I didn’t put all my vim and vigor into things, and I took it easy. Still, somewhere along the way I pulled a muscle in my upper thigh. When it happened, I had three kids running around my house taking my patience with them. When I was left alone with just my two kids, youtubing “groin stretches” didn’t really help my cause. fortunately, resting did.

I wrote earlier about giving my children space to rest and heal, so too should I afford myself the same luxury.

Do you feel like you weather illnesses and aches well, or could you build up your physical resilience?

More…

 

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

