One Hundred Three: Exceeding Expectations

“I’m not in this world to live up to your expectations and you’re not in this world to live up to mine.”  – Bruce Lee

Sunday, April 13th

Sunday was a truly sunny day and it would have been a travesty to do anything other than be outside. The family and I packed up a lunch and the kids’ bikes and headed for a park to meet up with my in-laws. This was a “Let’s Do This!” sort of day.

After eating lunch, the kids got on their bikes and were ready to navigate the 2.5 mile loop around the edge of the park. Neither my son or my daughter are strong bicyclists yet since we’ve let them putter around on their bikes without too much emphasis on them riding without our help. So there we are with walkers and bikers going both ways on the path, and my hover-parent shines through. My wandering kids with their off-the-mark steering were often salmon pedaling upstream, and they loved every minute of it save for when I squawked “Now just turn gently over to this side. No. No. That way. Wait. Yep. No, a little bit more that way.”

Sometimes the sound of my own ineffective cries of parenting annoy the heck out of me. It was nice to be reminded by my husband that I didn’t have to say anything at all. The kids would go for long lumbered stretches of pedaling, take a break, refuse to let Grandma or I carry the bike, and then get on. I was setting them up for giving in, but they wouldn’t let me. I trust my children. My husband and I (and our relatives and friends have) taught them well, and they don’t need to meet my expectations at every moment. That wouldn’t be much fun…

Lesson learned. Chill out, Mama, and let the kids do their thing.

Do you ever hover over someone else – co-worker, friend, child, mate, relative?

More…

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

