One Hundred One: Extraordinarily Ordinary

“Small minds are concerned with the extraordinary, great minds with the ordinary.”  – Blaise Pascal

“Ordinary riches can be stolen; real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.”  – Oscar Wilde

Friday, April 11th

Four months ago, I had this vague idea that if I was to write a daily blog about my adventures in everyday living that extraordinary things would start happening to me. While I have had moments of chaotic excitement and profound sacredness in my life, I wouldn’t say that they came my way because I sit down and write about life on WordPress.

The writing, however, leads me to be more reflective and this practice of evaluating what has really stuck with me that day has helped me to keep my eyes and heart open. My life is ordinary. There are waffles and cereal in the morning. Crumbs to sweep up an hour later. Small feet to chase. Hurts to mend. Minds to inspire. Food, laughter, music, germs, family, bills – the gamut.

I am learning and re-learning every day that my perspective creates my reality. Everything I need is in those ordinary moments.

Do you feel oppressed or refreshed by a routine and ordinary life?

More…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

