One Hundred: Being a Harmonious Idealist

“Personality is the glitter that sends your little gleam across the footlights and the orchestra pit into that big black space where the audience is.”   – Mae West

“I’ve trained myself to illuminate the things in my personality that are likable and to hide and protect the things that are less likeable.”  – Will Smith

Thursday, April 10th

On Thursday morning, a friend had posted a link to a simple personality test on social media. She seemed to think that the test pegged her rather well, so I decided to invest the five minutes to take it myself. I was pretty sure that I would pass and thereby be confirmed to have some degree of personality!

I absolutely detest the Myers-Briggs test. I’m sure it is useful to some people, but it never resonated with me nor did it direct me to understand myself at a deeper level. A decade or so ago, I took a Four Directions personality test. What surprised me was that a colleague pegged me as being completely different personality type than I thought myself to be. I thought I was a head-in-the-clouds visionary; she thought I was a feet-on-the-ground get-it-done sort of gal. That’s not so bad, I guess.

The iPersonic test asks the reader to choose one of two blocks of statements to describe herself. After four rounds, the survey churns out a description of your personality from 16 possible personality types. I found it interesting that it pegged how I prefer to socialize in small groups, reluctant to participate in public speaking opportunities, and have a need to work with other eclectic thinkers in a social capacity.

How would you describe your personality type?

More…

 

Tagged

Leave a Reply

