Ninety Seven: Another Bad Habit

“If this is coffee, please bring me some tea; but if this is tea, please bring me some coffee.”  – Abraham Lincoln

Monday, April 7th

Oh the folly of thinking that a substitute will make it easier for me to give up something that I’ve developed a habit of enjoying.  When I went to my friend’s birthday weekend, I drank a cup of coffee and it tasted obnoxiously good. That was followed by a cup the day after, and another the day after that and pretty soon I am grinding coffee beans in the morning and back on the coffee cup – so to speak. Thinking that a cup of tea will curve the cravings is just bonkers.

I love tea. It is flavorful. Light. I often drink tea for the medicinal benefits too. But when the cup is measured up against a cup of coffee, there is no comparison. I will not turn a blind eye to my cup of joe if I have a cup of cha in the other hand.

The only way to do it is to go cold turkey.

When you decide to quit a bad habit or adopt a new healthier one, are you resolute in sticking to it?

More…

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

